Yoga To Slow Your Roll

Alright 6-week shredders, if you pushed yourself to the max with the first two workouts, you should be in a bit of pain. It’s time to re-center with a yoga workout!

namaste yoga meme

Personally, I’ve tried yoga a couple times and it’s just not my jam. A bunch of hoopla about getting hippie-dipper with the earth mother, right? Wrong! Recently I read this article by Eric Stevens and realized he has an awesome point. I don’t like yoga because it brings out an underdeveloped side of me and I’m naive to dismiss it. I have terrible focus, and flit from one thing to the next with the attention span as long as the flap of a hummingbird’s tiny yet majestic wing. 

 

 Yoga forces you to be in the present and be aware of your body, your breathing and your thoughts. If you are an advanced yogi you may be reading this and thinking “no $h1t, Sherlock” but I rarely paid attention long enough in a yoga class to come to this conclusion myself until I heard it from someone who was a little more like-minded. Ah, my stubbornness is surely my weakness.

If you’re a beginner like me and are intimidated at the thought of being mocked by “non-judgmental” yogi’s, this video is a great way to get started at home.

If you are still ready to shred after the first two days and want something that will make you sweat, try a hot yoga class. Although hot yoga feels more intense, you probably aren’t burning as many calories as you think are melting right off you in that crazy warm room with a bunch of sweaty strangers while you strike compromising poses. Not to knock the style, but it’s important to be mindful of potential ploys from people who claim to be fitness experts. (But don’t take it from me. I’m not the expert!)

Leave a Reply

